Home > Purple Chunks > I’ve Been at the Top of a Depot!

I’ve Been at the Top of a Depot!

Take the title literally—I’ve been there! I managed to reach the top even with my shaking knees, second thoughts, and inner whispers to go back to the ground. I was able to set my feet on the thing that covered the opening of the depot. Mind you, that thing was also a bit shaky and of course wind blew harder there. Consequently, my knees shook even more and inner whispers became louder and blamed me that I should’ve not climbed up. But my true self won, I fought those negative thoughts and whispers and controlled, and eventually minimized, the shaking of my knees. I enjoyed viewing the top of other depots (haha!), taking pictures with my co-interns, seeing people from below as small as bugs, and feeling the gust of wind under the angry sun.

It was my first time to wear a hard yellow cap.

Up, up, and awayThe peak

Climbing up a depot may seem absurd for others like how my decision to pursue Organizational Communication appears strange to most people especially because they are unfamiliar with it. Moreover, I also experienced having shaking knees, second thoughts, and hearing inner whispers in relation with my course. At first, the term communication of the course was the only thing that made sense to me. I got worried when I was told that OrCom is not and will never be like Mass Comm or Broad Comm. With that, second thoughts of whether to continue or not my current course entered my mind. Of course, like what I mentioned earlier, my true self won and continues to win! I chose to stay in OrCom.

I found out that OrCom is the right course for me and that it equips me with the right knowledge and applications needed to participate in the business industry. More than that, I finally realized that I don’t want to get courses that will make my skills limited. I started to love OrCom because it trains students to be flexible and be knowledgeable in the fields of Marketing, Advertising, Corporate Communications, Events organizing, Human Resource, and others.

My internship in Eastern Group of Companies became easier since we are trained to multitask in our course. I was efficient and was able to participate in projects, events, meetings, and other tasks concerning Eastern Petroleum, MacKay Eastern Medical Group, and J&M Properties. In addition, the interpersonal skills highlighted in OrCom became very useful in the workplace when dealing with responsible co-interns, wonderful employees, and respectable bosses of the organization.

My short quest of climbing the depot is something that I would not be able to experience in an ordinary day. Likewise, OrCom offered me the experiences that no other course can give. I am very glad that I chose to continue to climb up the depot, frankly because the stairs is only one way and I was sandwiched between my co-intern and manong. Also, I am very glad that I stayed in OrCom, honestly because I learned to love it and leaving it would mean another year/s of studying.

Both climbing up the depot and staying in OrCom, meant one thing to me: there’s no other way but to go up.

(Thanks to Sir Enrique Martinez, Marketing Executive of Eastern Petroleum Corporation and my supervisor during my internship, for the pictures)

  1. July 21, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    That’s nice to hear! Finding your true meaning in a program that’s between unnoticeable and barely noticeable by most people is a learning that I am still figuring out. Maybe it’s orcom’s vast definitions that I am dropping by one at a time that makes it hard for me to establish my own definition.

  2. barrycade
    July 23, 2009 at 1:53 am

    wow! that’s a unique experience, climbing up a depot (well, at least for me who’s always inside a cubicle) 😀

    interesting how you relate that experience with your OrCom experience. it may be crude and the connection is loose, but because it has a personal meaning to you, i’m all for it. for me, both experiences speak of how important real immersion is to understanding an issue or idea. being part of the action has rewards that mere observation cannot provide.

  3. jorron monroy
    July 24, 2009 at 1:22 am

    I am actually almost envious of you getting in an Oil Company–which you very well know, what i want–specially getting on top of depots! I agree that being in OrCom was a bit ‘shaky’ a decision I had. When all of my barkadas were already into engineering, i was hoping too that i would be in the same field. Interestingly, I am now into communications. A forte, probably, I never noticed/admitted way back in HS. At any rate, yes, i am glad to having stayed in this degree program. OrCom rules!

  4. July 24, 2009 at 3:08 am

    What a random entry Nikki! Haha! Pero yeah, I appreciate OrCom more as I stay longer in the degree! :> It even helps me in my personal, non-academic life, *hint hint*. :>

    http://vinculum.alpsaguado.com/

  5. jasper delacruz
    July 24, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    i like this post, nikki. it somewhat gave me more reason to love and appreciate our program. i believe that OrCom has really provided great opputinities for us to grow not just professionally but also personally ,which i think is more important.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

