Home > OrCom Chunks > Another Trend in the Workplace

Another Trend in the Workplace

Planning Ahead

In our Organizational Communication 152 Class two Saturdays ago (so recent, right?), it was discussed in our class how to conduct and answer job interviews effectively. Podcasts, videoblogs, a written sample interview, and an impromptu interview scenario of my two classmates were presented to help us in the discussion. I learned that stating your previously held positions is not enough nowadays. You have to assert the things you’ve done in relation to your positions—the challenges you faced, how you overcame those, and how effective were your decisions and actions. During that discussion, I was already thinking of the things that I did as a member, officer, and representative in my organizations that I can somehow flaunt to my future job interviewer.

…but doing the right thing

Getting your desired job requires you to give satisfactory answers and interaction with your interviewer, and of course, a substantive, brief, yet impressive resume. I remember the time when I was revamping my resume that I would use in OJT application. I browsed the resume of a particular person to get an idea on what else to include in the objectives part. When I read the person’s resume objectives, I found out that she indeed have a very well said objectives. Out of curiosity, I tried to search and copy-paste her exact words in Google. Guess what? Her objectives appeared in the first five results! Most part of her objectives was copied directly from that website. Yes, her objectives were catchy but those really did not come originally from her. What if many of her co-applicants have been also smart enough to find and use that exact objective? What if her interviewer happened to search it in Google? Lesson learned, even if you wanted your resume to appear as interesting as possible, you must remember to state original ideas and real things about yourself as much as possible too. Moreover, the wide use of internet today makes it easy for employers not just to track whether you plagiarized your resume sentences or not but it also serves as a click-away means for them to verify your activities like positions handled, experiences, and other information.

New insights

I wish to go back to the day (during my internship) I gave my suggestions to my boss for the advertising and launching of their new products. Those are products especially for girls but one of those can also be for men. I, together with my co-intern, could have suggested that aside from competitor analysis and observation of shopping behaviors in malls, we could also conduct online forums or participate in online forums to know their preferences, insights, and other sentiments that could be beneficial for the launching of the products. Internet has now more to offer to industries as well as customers. Learning to maximize its uses is now a new trend for businesses to know.

  1. August 17, 2009 at 2:31 am

    Well, most companies and organizations are still traditional i.e. not informed about the benefits and the “wake-up call” of new social media. Oh my, too much pressure on the silver batch!!

  2. barrycade
    August 18, 2009 at 3:23 am

    copying career objective isn’t only a bad thing, it’s also a stupid thing to do, which is worse 🙂 career objective shouldn’t just be personal; it must be crafted in such a way that it sounds tailor fit to the job you are vying for. and then there are schools of thought that say you must do away with career objectives and start off with your list of competencies that are most relevant to the job you’re applying for. 🙂

  3. jorron monroy
    October 27, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    I wish to go back to the day (during my internship) I gave my suggestions to my boss for the advertising and launching of their new products. I have many of these after my internship, that is why the next time i’d be employed in a company, I’ll always voice out myself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

