Home > Purple Chunks > Overnights, Stress, and Friendship

Overnights, Stress, and Friendship

Two weeks had never been that stressful. However, one of the ironic things is that most stressors were not directly academic-related but extra-curricular activities which others, including me, called unnecessary-but- wanted stress.

Stress-ZebraStripes

It was my first time to be allowed (or my first time to impose) to spend two nights at my 2 friends’ houses, in the same week and another overnight the week after. In addition, staying extra hoursss in school and in coffee shops, and going to school even if I had no class must also be counted.

Aside from unsolicited eye bags and zits, another indicator of busyness and stress is an exhausted wallet. We had to buy overpriced coffees and bars from shops that provided haven during group meetings. Moreover, it’s during these consecutive hectic events that you would love your laptop and Wi-Fi even more. Your and your friends’ laptops and Wi-Fi become your best friends. USB’s  and CD’s become secondary because you can send small files to others through email and big files through sendspace.com. Search engines, such as Google, are very helpful for immediate information and needed pictures. Furthermore, access to social networking sites such as Plurk, Facebook, and Twitter become avenues for venting your stress and for getting updates from your friends. For instance Restaurant City, an application in Facebook, has become my favorite pastime, online detoxifier, and motivation to stay awake and work. 🙂

Of all the factors that turned out to be visible and felt in this stressful two weeks, friendship has been the most fulfilling and uplifting among them all. Now, I know this is being too cheesy but your friends (your FTF social network) are the only ones who will remain after all your experiences, happy and sad ones. And to those who endured my being RC-addict and my low tolerance for sleepiness, this is for you–> 🙂 (another smiley).

  1. August 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Are you still addicted to that game? Haha… I think laptop users should have their own USB modem with them so that they could just sit in somewhere and not just in coffee shops.

    • Dominique Anne
      August 29, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Yes, I am still addicted to RC!! haha!
      But my problem with USB’s is that they can easily get virus and infect my laptop =(

  2. August 30, 2009 at 12:32 am

    awww, nix. you know overnights can never be the same without you. with your helpful insights and, yes, your child-like rants..haha

    anyway, we know you can never really function that well without attending to your workers; so, don’t worry, we don’t mind at all..:D

    • Dominique Anne
      August 30, 2009 at 11:36 am

      Yay! I will remember all of these, rish! haha! Ace even asked a favor from me weeks ago and told me that in return he wouldn’t stop me from playing RC. He was true to his words. =)

  3. barrycade
    August 30, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    LOL. that zebra picture is so funny. 🙂

    you are right: online social networking sites offer us a breather from hectic work, but only real friendships—face-to-face—that truly makes the difference. last week was quite a loaded week for me, too, but i capped it with a movie and date with college friends and our laugh trip after that just blew the stress away from my system. priceless friendship moment, indeed. 🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      August 30, 2009 at 10:37 pm

      I don’t really have an idea on what’s the counterpart of zebra stripes for us haha!Hair? That’s quite scaryyy!

      Social networking sites are really breathers but they can also be stressors especially when you receive a task in your Facebook inbox hehehe! I think I am guilty of doing that to my batchmates.

      The important thing is we still know how to have fun and unwind when needed.

  4. August 31, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Of course, I witnessed how you were stressed Nikki.

    And I experienced how friendship grew and had a more sensible meaning.

    🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      August 31, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      haha! and you witnessed how my restaurant works

  5. imthatnicegirl
    August 31, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    aww, this is such a nice post. Nice meaning I can really relate to how stressful these past weeks was (don’t misunderstand… stress is SO not nice) ^_^ but because of the sleepovers, the 10-hour tambay in cafes, we really bond a lot don’t we? i guess it’s an added bonus. 🙂

    AND i just knew… KNEW you were going to say something about Restaurant City here. HAHA! 😀

    • Dominique Anne
      September 1, 2009 at 11:55 am

      Wow! My RC-addiction is really known by all, isn’t it? haha! Agree! Are we not happy to see each other working and stressed in the same cafe? Sometimes stress and happiness can come together.

  6. jorron monroy
    September 2, 2009 at 12:35 am

    restaurant city, nikki, hasn’t been you pastime! It is some sort of bad addiction. It stops you from working efficiently and is a perfect segue for you to sleep during overnights. haha. Yet, new social media is really an ease for us, if not the lifeblood of our group works. 😀

    • Dominique Anne
      September 2, 2009 at 12:40 am

      Now, look who’s talking! As if you have not been addicted to it!
      Anyway, I am doing every measure now so that RC won’t affect my performance negatively. Btw, at least I am not slaying zombies and running after witches (your kind of games) like you do. hehe!

  7. iya bautista
    September 3, 2009 at 2:38 am

    cheesy but true 🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      September 5, 2009 at 6:06 pm

      Yes, we’ve all experienced these

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

