Home > OrCom Chunks > You have to read this even if you’re not my dadddy :-)

You have to read this even if you’re not my dadddy :-)

In one of my conversations with daddy via Skype, we talked about blogs, especially why do I have to ask him everytime we talk to view and read my posts often (haha!). I pointed out that this is a way of helping her daughter in her academic needs. Aside from that, our conversation reached SEO (Search Engine Optimization) and what it can do to one’s personal site.

It really helps when your parents are computer and net-literate because explaining new social media becomes easier. So, here it is, extension of my OrCom 152 class discussion. (Here it is, daddy!)

What is SEO?

Search Engine Optimization is the process of making a site and its content highly relevant for search engines and searchers. It is through SEO that your site can easily be seen in search engines like Google and Yahoo Search and more people will visit your website.

SEO3

Why is SEO important?

  • SEO allows your site to be at the top list when titles, tags, and other words related to your site and posts are typed in search engines.
  • It increases the credibility of your site.
  • It enhances your online presence and reputation by giving a credible site as a result when your name is typed for example.

Do I need to get special services for SEO?

You don’t have to get a professional to do SEO for your site. You can do it by yourself.

Here are the tips for optimizing your site:

1. Make your site and its content reader-friendly.

  • Make sure your site is easy to navigate (and not an eye sore 🙂 )
  • Put headings and subheadings
  • If possible, don’t make your posts too long (most people have short attention span)
  • Be concise
  • Present lists in bullet form
  • Use bold, italic, and underline to highlight ideas
  • Add relevant pictures
  • Use appropriate tone (formal?informal?conversation-like?)
  • Contribute knowledge and information to your readers

2. Mind others’ businesses

  • For blogs, create a blogroll
  • Link up other sites related to yours
  • Reply to comments you receive and comment to others’ posts (this will help the number of your visitors increase)

3. Promote your site

  • Make RSS feed or feed subscription available to your site
  • Have good choice of tags
  • Submit your site to these feedreaders:

My Yahoo!        Bloglines       NewsGator          My MSN         Pluck       Feedster.com      Syndic8.com       Pingomatic.com

  • For blogs, submit your blog to blog listings like:

technorati.com        blogsearchgoogle.com     blogorama.com       blogpulse.com        topblogs.com.cph       daypop.com       ratified.org

  • Put a link to your website in your social networking accounts
  • Make your site’s URL your status in Yahoo! Messenger and Skype (haha!)
  • Write your site in your business cards or include it at the end of your email (I don’t know how you call that)
  • Use word-of-mouth technique (hehe!)

OOPS! I think this is too long already 😦 but I hope you, especially my dadi, learned something from this post. I intend to share something else here.  Maybe I’ll just create a separate blog for that haha!

  1. irishprecious
    September 6, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    im sure that it’s not only your dad who’s going to learn from this post.. 🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      September 6, 2009 at 11:52 pm

      I hope so, rish!

  2. September 7, 2009 at 12:41 am

    I just realized that WordPress can automatically ping search engines! Almost no need for Ping-o-matic! Go WP!

    • Dominique Anne
      September 7, 2009 at 9:19 pm

      I honestly don’t know what you’re talking about! haha! I’ll just ask you on wednesday =)

  3. barrycade
    September 13, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    nikki, i hope Alps gave you an answer to your question. “Pinging” means informing the search engines that you have new content so that they can crawl you for key words. What WP does is automatically inform the search engines every time you publish a new post, so no need to go to sites like ping-o-matic to manually type in your blog and inform sites that yours is already updated.

    hope that helps.

    btw, cool that your dad reads your blog. it would be nice to see his comments or thoughts on your posts too. 🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      September 13, 2009 at 11:23 pm

      alps answered my question last week. Yup, he also mentioned that I don’t need to do that since WP does that automatically. Thanks for your additional info, sir!

      Dadi reads my blog weekly, or when I remind him to haha! He only commented here once, without identifying himself.Unfortunately, he admitted that he reads but is lazy to comment.

  4. jorron monroy
    October 27, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    haha, i bet not only your dad or those in the industry could learn from this post.

  5. Trixie
    December 16, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Hi, I came across your site when looking for SEO training. Can you share with me where you learned how to do SEO? I would really like to know. Thanks! 🙂

    • Dominique Anne
      December 16, 2009 at 8:48 am

      Hello, Trixie! I am very glad that you found my blog. We, my classmates, were required to maintain a blog in our subject last semester. Our subject was about new social media. So we tackled SEO there and our professor also invited some speakers who are professionals in their own fields.

  6. January 25, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Thanks a lot. I am relatively new to blogging and this is just what I needed.

    • Dominique Anne
      January 25, 2010 at 4:38 pm

      Glad to be of help! Welcome to the world of blogging and good luck to your site!

  7. January 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I enjoy seeing websites that understand the value of providing a prime resource for free. I truly loved reading your post. Thanks!

    • Dominique Anne
      February 4, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      wow! and it’s a pleasure to receive a comment from an SEO authority like you! =) Thanks for dropping by

  8. February 16, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Couldnt come to an agreement more! At your accomplishment

  9. Hans-Peter
    March 8, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    hi, i have a question about the picture of this article. Can you tell me where is this picture? https://purpleinaction.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/seo3.jpg?w=300&h=244
    thank for help

    • Dominique Anne
      March 9, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Hello, Hans-Peter! I just got that picture from google.

  10. September 27, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Hi! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve got right here on this post. I am coming back to your site for more soon.

  11. October 31, 2012 at 5:50 am

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

  12. December 27, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Definitely consider that which you said. Your

    favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the

    easiest thing to consider of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as folks
    think about concerns that they just do not realize about.
    You

    managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the

    whole thing with no need side-effects , folks can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  13. April 13, 2013 at 4:59 am

    My husband and i ended up being

    so ecstatic that Albert managed to complete

    his studies via the ideas he made out of your
    web page. It is now and again perplexing just to choose to be
    making a gift of guides that many others could have been trying
    to sell. So we already know we have the writer

    to thank for that. The type of explanations

    you have made, the straightforward blog

    navigation, the relationships you can help

    to create – it’s got all

    unbelievable, and it’s

    making our son in addition to us know that the theme is awesome, and that
    is

    very essential. Thanks for all!

  14. June 13, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled

    upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your
    weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on

    your feeds or even I fulfillment you get admission to consistently rapidly.

  15. teofilamills1980
    July 22, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to

    know your situation; we have created some nice practices and we

    are looking to trade solutions with others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  16. January 14, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Hello. Great job. I did not imagine

    this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  1. September 6, 2009 at 5:21 pm
  2. September 20, 2010 at 2:29 am

Leave a Reply

